Roche Bobois worldwide


January 2016


Since 2009, Roche Bobois has organised a design competition to take place in a different country every two years. The aim is to seek out talented young designers and to give them the opportunity of exposure at the outset of their career.

The first edition of the Roche Bobois Design Award was held in China where it attracted 1,200 participants. In 2012, the AVA chair, one of the winning designs, designed by Song Wen Zhong, was Roche Bobois first polycarbonate injected chair and quickly became the bestselling chair in the Roche Bobois collection.

Following the second edition held in Morocco in 2011, Roche Bobois held the 2013 design contest in the United Kingdom in partnership with London's prestigious Central Saint Martins School of art and design.

The jury selected the LADY B armchair, conceived by Cécile Maïa Pujol, a young French designer, marking the brilliant start of her career as a designer with Roche Bobois.

The Roche Bobois 2015 Design Award was held in Germany in partnership with Architektur & Wohnen magazine. Students and young designers submitted their design based on the theme: modularity – multifunction – versatility – mobility. Each of the three product categories had a winner: Florian Gross for the KOBE light, Meike Harde for HYBRID, a piece of office furniture, and Vera Kerzel for the FORMENTERA armchair.